Word Nerd

Word Nerd : Elflock

Word Nerd Header Apr 2016 via LaWhimsyelflock-definition-word-nerd-via-lawhimsyOh, elflock – this is one of those perfectly charming words that has become more and more obscure in it’s usage over the years. I love using it! When I was younger I can remember having dreadful tangles in my waist-length hair and my Mother wondering if faeries or elves had caused them…Elflock Tresses…you can well imaging how this thrilled me and I was convinced for many years that the same magical beings that I swore tugged at my toes under the covers and whispered and laughed in ways only I could hear also tangled my hair, giving me elflocks. Even now I get a slight grin when I brush my hair and encounter an elflock, knowing that maybe, just maybe, those magical beings are still being playful. Sometimes I swear I can still hear a giggle, if I stop and listen instead of curse the tangle!

elflock tendrils via LaWhimsyIt may seem a bit twee to some, but I think many a quaintrelle shall agree that an elflock is a much better than merely having a tangle, though may it not happen too often!

Namaste ~ Ella

* Check out the Word Nerd Index and the Word Nerd Pinterest Board for even more logophile delights!

** If there’s a word you’d like to see added to the Word Nerd roster, please feel free to drop me a line or suggest it in the comments – I love feedback and recommendations!

Save

Save